It Can Only Go Up From Here

January-It Can Only Go Up From Here

I may have mentioned this before, but New Year’s is, hands-down, my favorite holiday. A lot of people love Christmas, but not me. The real celebration for me comes a week after that. I love the parties, getting all glammed up, and the fresh start that they holiday represents. It’s like a blank planner, with crisp, clean pages, waiting to be filled. (Office supplies also rank really high on my list of favorite things.) But this year, I felt like I broke my New Year not even twenty-four hours into it.

For the last two years, I’ve been working on losing weight, and this past spring, I reached my first goal weight — down 47lbs. I was so excited, but since then, I’ve been struggling with losing any more. In fact, it has been slowly and steadily ticking upwards for a few months. When I did my daily weigh-in on New Year’s Day, I was so disappointed to see the highest number the scale has displayed in over a year. It was just shy of ten pounds higher than what I had been back in April. What happened? I work out quite often, and I’ve been tracking my calories for so long. I honestly felt like my weight loss has been a fluke.

On top of already feeling miserable from my morning weigh-in, I spilled water all over my computer desk, planner, and my iPad later that day. Luckily, my iPad survived any damages, but it was enough for me to call it a day and crawl back into bed.

After a long and restful holiday break from work, my coworkers and I returned to the college for a workshop. That afternoon, we would find out that one of our former supervisors had passed away early in the day. It was so sad because he had just retired in July, and it was very unexpected. Our college received a second bereavement notice the very next day; an instructor from the main campus had passed.

Ranging from insignificant to extremely so, this has been a really rough start to the new year. But, I’m starting to see that it doesn’t have to be so discouraging. It means that the year can really, and truly, only go up from here. At the beginning of the year, I started Yoga Camp with Adriene (about which I’ll write more once it’s over), so now I’m about 1/3 of the way through it. Last night’s theme was “I Trust,” and something she said in the video really stuck with me.

askew

 

No one ever sets out to fail, or to be unhappy — so why dwell on the negative? It’s January. There is still so much year to look forward to!  There is plenty of time to make the progress and find the success I have planned for the next trip around the sun. This year, instead of making huge, sweeping goals and resolutions, I’m putting less pressure on myself. I’m trying to make my goals more attainable and somewhat vague so I can work around them and allow myself to redefine them as the months go on.

  1. Create more: Whether that means fingers to keys or brush to canvas/paper/other mixed media surface.
  2. Spend more time in my (home) office: When we bought this house, I was so excited that I’d have a room to call my own. I put a lot of effort into decorating it just the way I wanted; now I need to use it.
  3. Shop less: this is my Achilles heel. Don’t get me wrong — its not like I’m at Confessions of a Shopaholic levels. I love finding a good deal (I always head to the clearance section first, and I rarely go without a coupon of some sort), and I love clothes shopping. But, am I really saving money if I’m still spending it on something that I either don’t 100% love or need?
  4. Lose 3lbs a month: Instead of focusing on one big number that can seem incredibly intimidating, 3 seems like such a small, achievable goal.

Hopefully these are simple enough that I can find success to some degree in each category. If I do, I’ll let you know about it.

How are you starting out this new year? 

 

6 thoughts on “It Can Only Go Up From Here

    • twyf says:

      Thank *you*! I love hearing that something I wrote made someone feel good. That refreshed feeling makes me feeling like I can go out and conquer so much — now I just have to follow through on it.

  1. Donna Williamson Twyford says:

    Yes, reality sure can bite and you cannot defeat it, but you can learn to work with it. This should make you less self-critical and a much happier camper. Looks like you have achieved that level, Grasshopper.

  2. Miriam Welch says:

    I too adore office supplies and Adriene’s videos. The Powerful Lady Vibes are strong with me this season and I’m so encouraged to hear that you’re finding ways to succeed without tearing yourself down in the process. Come rain or shine we’re going to rock this year.

    • twyf says:

      Yes! Lisa said she was into Adriene’s videos, too. It can be so easy to be negative when it seems like x, y, and z are being thrown at us, but then I look at where I was, and how far I’ve come. We are totally going to rock this year! I miss you and I hope California is treating you well, my dear!

COMMENTS

