Vendor Spotlight: Limelight Images

engagement blog header pic

Happy New Years, all! I hope that this year brings you all good things, good health, and much happiness! Today, I wanted to feature one of our vendors for the big day: our amazing photographers, Limelight Images from Struthers, Ohio. Owned by the husband-and-wife duo of Jimmy and Kristy Taaffe, Limelight works with other photographers to provide each couple with a team of two professionals who will be able to cover every angle and shot of their big day.

This past September, Brian and I met up with Jimmy in downtown Youngstown for our engagement session. Earlier in the day, I had stopped in to the Casal Aveda Institute in Austintown to have my hair and makeup done (only $27! What a deal!) for the pictures. I wanted to make sure I looked my absolute best for our photos, and since I have no idea how to do much of anything besides draw my eyeliner on somewhat evenly, I figured it would be better to pay to have someone do it for me.

Knowing that our last professional pictures were when we each had senior pictures taken in high school, I was a little apprehensive about what to expect, but Jimmy put us at ease as soon as we met him. He coached us through the whole session, giving us constructive tips to help get a shot right. We explored different parts of Youngstown, starting at the B&O Station and ending at the Fellows Riverside Gardens, while Jimmy clicked away. (Someone happened to leave the gate open at a closed landmark bar in Youngstown, so we may or may not have stopped there, too…)

Later in the evening after our session, Jimmy posted a preview of five or six pictures from that day, and they were sooo good! It was probably less than two weeks later when we received a disc of our photos. We’re both so happy with how they came out, and how Jimmy was able to capture our relationship. There were quite a few “I can definitely see the love in this picture” comments on Facebook, and when we shared our album with family.

Here are some tips straight from the pros about what to expect for an engagement session:

What should we wear for our engagement pictures?
Dress comfortably. Many couples really try to dress so their personalities will show. If they are Pirates fans, they were Pirates jerseys. Remember, these are fun!

My partner and I have never had professional pictures taken! How can we get comfortable for our session?
Relax. Have fun. I do everything I can to ease a nervous couple into pictures.

What should we expect?
From Limelight you can expect a fun, relaxed shoot. Most couples don’t know what to expect. I always say you get out of your pictures what you put in. So relax and have fun!

What do you like best about wedding photography?
Wedding photography is an awesome thing. Its really such a privilege to be part of the couple’s day. My favorite part of the day is the look on the bride’s face before she walks down the aisle. The tears, the smiles, the nerves. It really is a great thing to see and be a part of!

I love these pictures! Knowing how fantastic these are, I’m confident our wedding pictures will just as great! Thank you, Limelight!

3 thoughts on “Vendor Spotlight: Limelight Images

  1. Donna Twyford says:

    Just some copy reading here. First paragraph, ‘who will be able to’. Last paragraph, ‘aisle’ not ‘isle’.

COMMENTS

