New Year, New Blog: Rules of Engagement

joy cone christmas

Hi! I’m Twyf, and that handsome fella on the left is my husband-to-be, Brian. The night before Thanksgiving, he made me a very happy gal and asked me to marry him. Strangely enough, two days before he asked me, I had interviewed for a part-time bridal consultant position, and after the interview, I met him for dinner at a Chinese restaurant. His fortune cookie wasn’t that great, but mine read “A good message is on it’s way to you.” Not twenty minutes later, I received a call from the store manager, offering me the position. I think my fortune cookie was extra-strength, since it held out for another few days. I’m beyond excited to spend the rest of my life with Brian, and I can’t wait to start planning, but first, I want to spend some time getting settled into my new job helping brides like myself find the dress of their dreams.

Yes, I know the ring is on the wrong finger — I’ve since had it resized. I was just really excited to get a good picture of it!

I’m so glad that I finally can start working on this blog. While I fully intend to keep up with posts over at Dames Who Dish, this will allow me to vent all of my wedding-related thoughts, frustrations, ideas, etc without overwhelming that site. I will say this upfront: it’s very likely that you won’t agree with all of my opinions, or won’t be a fan of some plans for my own wedding that I may discuss on this blog. Some of my thoughts may be a little controversial (taking or not taking my future husband’s last name, having children at the ceremony and reception, etc.), and while I welcome your opinions and thoughts on the matter, I’m not looking for arguments. Weddings, and more importantly, marriages, are not and should not be “cookie-cutter” by nature — how fun would it be to attend three weddings in one year that are all exactly the same? None at all, right? Right. As long as we can discuss the issues like mature adults, there shouldn’t be a problem. I’m not out to change anyone’s mind about how weddings “should” be, and I don’t think its fair for others to do that, either.

All that being said, I can’t wait to talk about all things wedding. It helps that I work in a store whose sole purpose is to help outfit brides for their big day. If you’re planning a wedding, too, I’d love to hear about ideas for your own nuptials. I’m hoping to feature posts from my Co-MOH’s (Co-Maids of Honor) and my Brides-Dames, as well as input from recently-married gals I know on the “hot topics” of weddings and newlywed life. I plan on posting about once a week, but we’ll see. Feel free to subscribe to this blog to keep up with the latest posts.

Leave a comment with ideas for what you would like me to write about!

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Blog: Rules of Engagement

  1. emiliehall48 says:

    LOVE THIS!! Cutest blog name award goes to you! I’m so excited for you, and I’m also excited to read all about your wedding plans. Takes me back to days in the office, flipping through those wedding magazines/blogs/pins etc etc. Ah, I can already hear the bells 🙂

    • twyf says:

      Thanks! I’ve been thinking about it for a while now and just seemed perfect 🙂 I already have the next few weeks of posts planned, with a couple focusing on all of the bridal shows I’ll be attending in the next couple of months. We’re also going to start looking at venues soon, too! Yay!

COMMENTS

